Vlog

Inventory Planning

Inventory management always seems to be trade-off between reliable production and low stock levels. By using mathematical optimization, you can have both at the same time.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

The potential of optimization

Most companies are already aware of the potential for improvement. But how can optimization potential be identified and quantified? This is where optimization comes in and helps to replace gut feeling with numbers.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

How do solvers work

We like to treat solvers as magical black boxes, but it’s worth understanding their basic principle. In this episode, find out more about how solvers can be used to find our optimum incredibly fast.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Data, Data, Data

A good set of data is the core of every optimization project. But why is so crucial, to use real data already when still implementing the software? Let us share some insights we gained on data during our optimization projects.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Tournament Scheduling

Creating tournament schedules seems simple, but in practice it can be quite complex. It’s also a great example of optimization. Learn more about the details and tricks of creating tournament schedules in this episode.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Infeasible Problems

At first glance, infeasible problems present a major challenge. Where do the problems come from and how can you recognise and solve them? In this episode, we will explain why you shouldn’t panic about such problems and what options there are for solving them. Have fun with it!

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Production Networks

The management of complex production networks is demanding. Often, the necessary transparency is lacking to coordinate demand and production capacities in such a way that goods availability and production costs are in an optimal relationship. How production networks work and how they can be optimized with the help of advanced analytics is what our colleague Marc Johann talks about in his premiere as the second host of “One more thing about…”. Enjoy!

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Model Abstraction

It seems virtually impossible to find a model for our decision-making which takes all details into account. In this episode we demonstrate how data abstraction can help to model a problem, thus making it the core of successful optimization.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Scaling up using the Cloud

“Let’s use the cloud to solve it faster…” Sounds easy, but does it really meet the expectations when it comes to solving optimization problems? It actually can, but there are some aspects to think about before and we show which ones they are.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Flow Location Problems

Sometimes optimization specialists combine different existing techniques to tackle a new type of problem. This is the case for flow network analysis and the facility location problem by combining them to flow location networks. Let’s see how that works and what can be solved this way.

Weiterlesen »

Vlog

Inventory Planning

Die Verwaltung der Lagerbestände scheint immer ein Kompromiss zwischen zuverlässiger Produktion und niedrigen Lagerbeständen zu sein. Mit Hilfe mathematischer Optimierung können Sie beides gleichzeitig haben.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

The potential of optimization

In den meisten Unternehmen ist bereits ein Bewusstsein für Verbesserungsmöglichkeiten vorhanden. Doch wie lässt sich das Optimierungspotenzial identifizieren und quantifizieren? Hier setzt die Optimierung ein und hilft, das Bauchgefühl durch Zahlen zu ersetzen.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

How do solvers work

Wir behandeln Solver gerne als magische Blackboxen, aber es lohnt sich, ihr Grundprinzip zu verstehen. Erfahren Sie in dieser Folge mehr darüber, wie mit dem Einsatz von Solvern unser Optimum unglaublich schnell gefunden werden kann.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Data, Data, Data

Gute Daten sind das Herzstück eines jeden Optimierungsprojekts. Aber warum ist es so wichtig, bereits bei der Implementierung der Software echte Daten zu verwenden? Lassen Sie uns einige Erkenntnisse teilen, die wir während unserer Optimierungsprojekte über Daten gewonnen haben.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Tournament Scheduling

Die Erstellung von Turnierplänen scheint einfach, kann in der Praxis jedoch durchaus komplex sein. Zudem ist es ein großartiges Beispiel für Optimierung. Erfahren Sie in dieser Folge mehr über die Details und Kniffe bei der Erstellung von Tunierplänen.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Infeasible Problems

Auf den ersten Blick stellen Infeasible Problems eine große Herausforderung dar. Erfahren Sie in dieser Folge, warum Sie bei solchen Problemen nicht in Panik geraten sollten und welche Möglichkeiten es gibt, sie zu lösen.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Produktionsnetzwerke

Das Management von komplexen Produktionsnetzwerken ist anspruchsvoll. Wie Produktionsnetzwerke funktionieren und wie sie mit Hilfe von Advanced Analytics optimiert werden können, darüber spricht unser Kollege Marc Johann in seiner Premiere als zweiter Gastgeber von „One more thing about…“. Viel Spaß!

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Model Abstraction

Es scheint praktisch unmöglich, ein Modell für unsere Entscheidungsfindung zu finden, das alle Details berücksichtigt. Wie die Datenabstraktion bei der Modellierung eines Problems helfen kann und sie somit Kern einer erfolgreichen Optimierung ist, zeigen wir in dieser Folge.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Scaling up using the Cloud

„Nutzen wir die Cloud, um es schneller zu lösen…“ Klingt einfach, aber erfüllt es wirklich die Erwartungen, wenn es um die Lösung von Optimierungsproblemen geht? Das kann es tatsächlich, aber es gibt einige Aspekte, über die man vorher nachdenken sollte, und wir zeigen, welche das sind.

Weiterlesen »
Vlog

Flow Location Problems

Verschiedene Techniken kombinieren, um eine neue Art von Problem zu lösen. Hört sich spannend an und ist es auch! Beispielsweise bei Flow Location Problems.

Weiterlesen »